30 Days of Autism Project…(Countdown to April, 2011)

It is hard to know if I am writing to anyone else at all – perhaps it is just me and no one will read this little post. If that is how it shakes down, that is ok, but I am jumping off on this little adventure, regardless. I am writing for myself… and a hopeful byproduct of this is  that my writing might create opportunities for those in the neurotypical (NT) world to glimpse another way of seeing.

I am thinking about all of the perspectives that I carry with me daily. I also carry with me the understanding that my child is not so well equipped with the tools to easily decode and navigate the social world.

April is Autism Awareness Month and I hope to explore the complexities of this on a number of levels. I am wondering about opportunities to extend my own awareness and understanding of perspectives I have had the privilege of experiencing with autism touching my world and the world of those close to me.

© Leah Kelley, Thirty Days of Autism, (2011)

About Leah Kelley

Leah Kelley, MEd., Educator, Parent, Speaker, Social Justice Activist. Writes blog: 30 Days of Autism. Projects support social understanding & neurodiversity. Co producer of documentary: Vectors of Autism. Twitter: @leah_kelley Pinterest: http://pinterest.com/leahkelley13/ Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/30-Days-of-Autism-Leah-Kelley/154311301315814
This entry was posted in Autism, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 30 Days of Autism Project…(Countdown to April, 2011)

  1. suvarna says:

    So cool you are doing this, I love your banner and the beautiful blooms he is walking through. I’m looking forward to a month of awakening! It is funny that today i stumbled upon another blog by a mom of a pre teen girl who is also living with Autism. I will send you a link.

Leave a Reply

