Beyond these 30 Days… Aaaack! This Aspie / Autism blog needs a new name!!!

For the 30 days of April 2012, I made it 13 days of consecutive blogging …not 30 like I did last year …although, I did do a few additional posts here and there.  So, I didn’t post every day… but for some very good, extremely awesome and amazing reasons!! (I know – this totally sounds like I am justifying and rationalizing… but WAIT!!)

In the month of April I presented at the NAzASA Conference in Arizona, and I was there for the premier of Vectors of Autism: A Documentary about Laura Nagle, as co-producer of that amazing project.

And then – the wonderful Autism Blogging Collective, Thinking about Perspectives, – worked together in a collaborative effort and created the amazing Autism Positivity Flash Blog Event, and a website to go with it, and we mobilized the autism community in a supportive and hopeful way. Many of us want to have a positive impact on spreading understanding, mindfulness, and supporting those with social cognitive challenges or different ways of seeing and interacting with the word.

Our positive stance and openness to learning from our varied perspectives is deepening our understanding and we are working to be the change we want to see in the world.

Yes, I am stretched!! However, I did have an image ready for the end of the month. In all honesty, it has been prepared since March.  It fits in with the theme/idea that Autism awareness/acceptance/understanding needs to extend beyond this 30 days.

I mean really… the blog name ‘Thirty Days of Autism’ is rather ironic and that is certainly not lost on me.                                                 

Fortunately – I love irony!

We are close to 5,000 days of autism with H… and for me it is about acceptance  and strength based attitudes and understanding for those who experience the world differently.

There is a long way to go with changing the world… but I am busy taking action! I am working to be the change I want to see. I may not be doing it perfectly – and I will most certainly make mis-steps along the way, and next steps… and then more steps after that.

My efforts need to go well beyond these 30 Days of April… and fortunately they are now leaking into May! The most wonderful thing however is that I am not doing this alone! There is a whole world of people who are working to support these same ideas of acceptance and understanding. If you are wondering who they might be, I encourage you to take a peek at my blog roll (over there on the right ->).

Thank you to all of you who share my vision, to those of you who listen to me advocate endlessly for my students, or my child, or autistic adults, or who read this blog, or write a blog of your own! We are making a difference!

Yesterday I had the honour of being interviewed by Kim G at AWOP Radio and, among other things, we talked about Autism Positivity, and Vectors of Autism, and my experiences with getting to know autistic adults (beyond The Amazing Craig and a few other close friends).

I invite you to listen to my interview on AWOP Radio (A World of Progress Radio). It will air tomorrow night, Friday, May 4th at 7:00 pm Pacific time (10:00pm eastern time).

This week @awopradio talking #AutismPositivity2012 & Diversity w @leah_kelley from 30 Days of Autism. http://awopradio.com/livestream How cool is that!

_________________________________________________________

30 Days of Autism is a project designed to promote social understanding and offer a glimpse into the perspectives of those whose lives are touched by Autism.

© Leah Kelley, Thirty Days of Autism, (2012)

About Leah Kelley

Leah Kelley, MEd., Educator, Parent, Speaker, Social Justice Activist. Writes blog: 30 Days of Autism. Projects support social understanding & neurodiversity. Co producer of documentary: Vectors of Autism. Twitter: @leah_kelley Pinterest: http://pinterest.com/leahkelley13/ Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/30-Days-of-Autism-Leah-Kelley/154311301315814
This entry was posted in acceptance, ASD, Aspergers, Autism, Autism Positivity, Documentary, Laura Nagle, NAzASA, promote social understanding, Vectors of Autism and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Beyond these 30 Days… Aaaack! This Aspie / Autism blog needs a new name!!!

  1. Liz says:

    Leah I sit here once again reflecting on your blog. And while I know you don’t want it, you have my admiration for what you are doing. You are increasing awareness and understanding about autism as a mother, as a writer and as a teacher. Thank you

  2. Leah Kelley says:

    Thank you Liz. I so very much appreciate your support and encouragement. It is a powerful force coming from colleagues and friends that I love and care about – and who are also working to support children and families!

    It is wonderful, as well, to know that people are pondering, reflecting, and wondering…
    If my blog is stretching thinking or encouraging others take a step back to contemplate from a different angle or perspective – well – what more can I ask!?!

    Hugs!!

  3. A Quiet Week says:

    I feel so excited and positive about all the wonderful things happening around us! Thank you for your devotion and spark. The flash blog event still makes me shivery! It’s a wonderful time to be an Aspie and raise one, too!

    • Leah Kelley says:

      Thank you! I always love reading your posts – so this means so much coming from you! (And to those of you perusing comments – you should check out Lori’s spectacular art and insightful writing on her blog “A Quiet Week”)

      That we can have a positive influence on others and work to impact the world in a positive way is heady stuff indeed! I am shivery too!!

  4. Leah – you are an awesome woman and I am so lucky to know you! Creating actionable goals for change is so difficult without a clear idea of what we are trying to do – and the Flash Blog project really helped so many understand a bit more, and hopefully made a real difference! {hugs}

    • Leah Kelley says:

      Thanks Katrina! I certainly appreciate your encouragement… I reflect that you have been doing that for me for some time now!! Yay!!

      I hope others will visit your site and see the efforts and commitment you are making to continue to pursue actionable goals as a stance and a way of being! This goes so much beyond an event, or an day, or a month… although all of those are positive as well. It is amazing to know that so many others are on this journey with us.

      I am proud and honoured to count you as my friend!

Leave a Reply

