Dear, Dear Friend: A poem for the blogosphere

Dear, Dear Friend:

I await your posts…
They make me laugh                                                                                            …and cry

They educate me
They make me wonder

It seems your words come with me on my journey                                                                                                                                                           with my beloved child

Sometimes your words make me feel appreciative, and I am aware that I don’t face the same degree of struggle you experience,                                                      and it is then I realize that I cannot fully understand…

Sometimes I mitigate this with the idea that it is all relative…

A feeling of some kind of guilt usually follows both of these thoughts

Sometimes I realize that our struggles are oh so alike…

Sometimes I am with you on the page and I too have lived what you are writing…

Always, always I carry your words with me when I am working with a family who has a child or a situation that seems similar to yours

Perhaps this child does not speak words

I know however – that this child has a language   

and that it is up to the rest of us to learn it

Sometimes you give me a glimpse of what might be possible

This ignites and nourishes my hope

I am getting different perspectives from accompanying you on your journey…

learning from the paths you are taking                                                                    so that I can follow…

or look across to a slightly different path…

to gain perspective

or perhaps leave my own trail to help you find your way

but realizing, either way, we are still together on this journey

Sometimes I wonder if I am sugar-coating autism…

I hope not

Sometimes I wonder if I am not positive enough

I hope not

I am trying to write my experience from my heart

My Truth

and I know you are doing the same,

but I like that your words have me considering and questioning this

I hope that we can stay connected                                                                    because your words make my world bigger…

and that is a good thing…

And together our words make all the world bigger

as we walk together

to build understanding

on this path

Leah Kelley, 2012

_________________________________________________________

30 Days of Autism is a project designed to promote social understanding and offer a glimpse into the perspectives of those whose lives are touched by Autism.

© Leah Kelley, Thirty Days of Autism, (2012)

About Leah Kelley

Leah Kelley, MEd., Educator, Parent, Speaker, Social Justice Activist. Writes blog: 30 Days of Autism. Projects support social understanding & neurodiversity. Co producer of documentary: Vectors of Autism. Twitter: @leah_kelley Pinterest: http://pinterest.com/leahkelley13/ Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/30-Days-of-Autism-Leah-Kelley/154311301315814
This entry was posted in Aspergers, Autism, Journey, language, perspective of others, poem, poetry, promote social understanding, relationships and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Dear, Dear Friend: A poem for the blogosphere

  1. seventhvoice says:

    This is beautiful Leah….

  2. Quiet Contemplation says:

    I love this. So beautiful and so well written.

    • Leah Kelley says:

      You are always so supportive!! Thank you for your support and your beautiful perspective! Words like yours – they shape us all… and I appreciate that!

  3. Vicki says:

    Beautiful words, Leah! I know what you mean.

  4. Caryn says:

    Buckets of awesome there, lady!

  5. danidawn says:

    You have so much talent…Beautiful…Well Done!!!

    • Leah Kelley says:

      Aw… Dani :) Thank you so much! What a lovely compliment… I must reveal however – that my family never NEVER gets the kind of baking that yours does. Hey, when are you inviting me over for coffee??? Hugs!!

  6. spectrumscribe says:

    Leah, every time I read this poem (which is pretty much every time it appears in my Twitter timeline) it reads like a personal letter to me.

    It encourages me on my new blogging journey and indeed on my personal journey through the social maze.

    I see and feel how you strain to understand and empathize with life from an Autism perspective and I wonder…..

    Intellectually I have a fairly good grasp of the NT mind/world, as you clearly do of the Autistic mind/world.

    But you probably have a far better emotional/intuitive understanding of the Autistic mind and world than I will ever have of the NT mind and world.

    You are treading a path that I have, to date, only vaguely imagined.

    You are on Holy ground Leah, connecting people separated by their neurological perspectives.

    For this I am truly grateful.

    Thank you Leah

    • Leah Kelley says:

      I am uncertain how to respond to this beautiful comment.
      I really cannot explain how much your words have moved me and encouraged me as well. Thank you! To have such supportive words is a powerful force!!

      Together… we WILL make the world more appreciative and accommodating for those who experience the world differently. A huge thank you to you… because you, and others like you, who are sharing your experience, will create an easier path for our children.

      Your insights are important, needed, and very much appreciated.

      I encourage others to check out your wonderful blog: http://postcardsfromtheedgeofthespectrum.wordpress.com/2012/05/26/aspergers-and-the-social-minefield/

  7. myaspielife says:

    Leah, you’re the most positive person I know. You make the planet smile and we can’t thank you enough for it.

    • Leah Kelley says:

      Thank you! That means so much!
      I have said something similar before – but I really am more because of the connections I am able to make with others like you. I am a better teacher, a better partner, and a better mom for my friendships with adults on the spectrum. ‘Listening to Autism’ is key to this… and together, we are shaking things up quite beautifully, aren’t we!!

  8. Ah Leah … sometimes, my friend, I remember just how amazing you truly are! Because you are amazing!

  9. Leah your amazing and that was just so beautiful thank you xx

Leave a Reply

