Think Differently… it doesn’t fall far from the tree

_________________________________________________________

30 Days of Autism is a project designed to promote social understanding and offer a glimpse into the perspectives of those whose lives are touched by Autism.

© Leah Kelley, Thirty Days of Autism, (2012)

About Leah Kelley

Leah Kelley, MEd., Educator, Parent, Speaker, Social Justice Activist. Writes blog: 30 Days of Autism. Projects support social understanding & neurodiversity. Co producer of documentary: Vectors of Autism. Twitter: @leah_kelley Pinterest: http://pinterest.com/leahkelley13/ Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/30-Days-of-Autism-Leah-Kelley/154311301315814
This entry was posted in Aspergers, Autism, promote social understanding, the box and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Think Differently… it doesn’t fall far from the tree

  1. Leah, I might just be thick and low on spoons (ok, definitely low on spoons), but I don’t get this…

    • Leah Kelley says:

      That’s OK… it was just about how I could see the face in the trees right away and that the kite was an eye… It is about perspectives and seeing things from a different angle. It was a visual metaphor for considering things differently. It also had me reflecting about the way H often sees things uniquely from his own angle in his own way – and how that is a trait we share. I drew it in so that others could see what I saw – as an overlay – and the progression of images. It is not particularly deep – I just thought it was beautiful the way there was that face hidden there in the branches. It reminded me of those hidden pictures activities I loved as a kid.

      I hope I didn’t make you lose a spoon…

  2. Leah Kelley says:

    Yes!! Highlights Mag!! I was uncertain if that was solely a Canadian reference.
    I also still see owls in trees, dragons in clouds, octopi, one-eyed pigs + poodles in popcorn, and little animals (and even spoons) hidden in our swirly 1970′s bathroom floor, wood grain, and the like.

Leave a Reply

