Sharknado 2: A Review by H

sharknado2headernewLast night me and my mom watched Sharknado 2: The Second One, and we were really impressed with it.

I loved the beginning how it was a take off of the 6o’s Twilight Zone, Nightmare at 20,000 Feet, and how there were sharks on the wing on the plane.

That was just hilarious!

I think the opening of the film with the plane for a second looked like a flying shark. I also think this scene would make a cool theme park ride or a simulator game.

That was the best opening ever, and I think I saw Robbie Rist in the opening credits… but my mom and I think we shouldn’t spoil the Where’s Waldo search for everyone else if it is him!

The effects improved as well. The sharks looked a lot more like sharks – like realistic – almost…

I like how Fin was wearing a shark tooth around his neck and how he used a broadsword to chop sharks in half.

And OMG – the CHAINSAW! It was a masterpiece. That chainsaw was brutally stupendous in size. I also noticed the chainsaw didn’t get bloody at all, which my mom and I thought was hilarious.

And just the idea of having Fin lifting that thing with one arm was mind-boggling.

And Finn’s wife, April, went all “Evil Dead” on her arm – but not with a chainsaw – but a circular saw, which was very unexpected and awesome.

Some of my favourite lines were:

“If anyone is gonna play me in the movie – it’s gonna be me.” (Fin)

“I hate the subway” (Fin –  which was like “I hate the 405” in the first movie)

“I know you’re upset” (the cop after the harsh plane landing)

“This is a twister with teeth… Enough said” (News announcer – “enough said’ was the slogan in the first movie)

I like how Sharknado 2 takes after awesome bad 80s B films like Chopping Mall, with good bad acting.

Sometimes sequels are horrible, like Gremlins 2, and Troll 2, and sometimes the second film, like Teminator 2, is better than the first one. I think Sharknado 2: The Second One was well made and is just as good as the first film.

I send a lot of credit to Anthony Ferrante and The Asylum, and I give it another 4/5 disembodied shark heads on my shark head rating scale.

Decapitated shark head rating scale

People who like movies like Chopping Mall or Return of the Living Dead or the first Sharknado… this is for you! Here is a link to the trailer for Sharknado 2.

*Please Note: H and I feel it is important to share that H authored the words of this review and it was scribed for him by me.  There are many people who find that writing is an opportunity for expression, and conversely some people, like H, who at times find it a barrier. It is helpful if we understand that one experience is not preferable to the other, but rather focus on effectively matching supports and accommodations for individuals with a variety of strengths and experiences. This is honouring diversity ♥

___________________________________________________

30 Days of Autism is a project designed to fight stigma, promote civil rights, and increase understanding and acceptance for those who process and experience the world differently.

© Leah Kelley, Thirty Days of Autism (2014)

About Leah Kelley, Ed.D.

Leah Kelley, M.Ed, Ed.D., Writer, Consultant, Activist, Speaker, and Educator, working with Teacher Candidates at UBC. Authors blog: 30 Days of Autism. Projects support social understanding, Neurodiversity paradigm, Disability Justice, and connecting Disability Studies in Education(DSE)to Educational Practice. Twitter: @leah_kelley Facebook: 30 Days of Autism: Leah Kelley
This entry was posted in Autism, Autistic, B films, Humour, New York, Sharknado and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Sharknado 2: A Review by H

  1. jsackmom says:

    I loved this review, H told it with such enthusiasm it made me want to watch the first Sharknado and its sequel! Well done H, keep up the great work reviewing. 😃

    Like

  2. tialys says:

    I doubt I’ll ever watch this particular film but it was a very entertaining review so thanks for that H.
    I loved Gremlins 2 by the way 🙂

    Like

  3. rumpenissen says:

    thank you very much because I can read about your life, hope you get a really great day

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.